You’ve Got to Want to be Here!

cropped-fullsizerender.jpg

“You’ve got to want to be here.”

Today’s advice comes from the BYU-Idaho Communication department secretary Sister Scholes. When I asked her what advice she could give to the freshmen the very first thing she said was “you’ve got to want to be here.” I completely agree with this statement.

If you don’t want to be here you’re not going to get anything out of college, and you’re going to be wasting either your money or you’re parent’s money.

College is great.

It is Fun, but sometimes it isn’t for everyone.

My junior year of High school everyone was talking about where they wanted to go to college and some were even applying. At that point in my time I didn’t even know if I wanted to go to college and I still didn’t even know if I wanted to go even when I got accepted to BYU-Idaho. My mom didn’t finish college so why did I even have to go?

My mom told me that I should at least go for a year and if I didn’t like it then I would come home. After having a fantastic first year I decided that it was for me.

Take Sister Scholes advice and study it. “You’ve got to want to be here.” If you don’t want to be here you won’t learn anything.

Leave a comment