Keep Cool while obeying the Dress and Grooming Standards

cropped-fullsizerender.jpg

I was talking to one of my friends last night and she asked for advice on how not to get heat stroke. That’s something that I am currently learning as this is my first spring semester on campus.

The Dress and Grooming standards can make things complicated when it comes to staying cool in the summer. It states:

For women “Clothing is immodest when it is sleeveless, does not cover the stomach or is low-cut in the front or back. Dresses and skirts should be knee-length or longer (even with leggings worn). No capris may be worn on campus. Women may wear one pair of earrings.

For men “Hairstyles should be clean and neat, avoiding extreme styles or colors, and trimmed above the collar leaving the ear uncovered. Sideburns should not extend below the earlobe or onto the cheek. Men are expected to be clean shaven, mustaches, if worn, should be neatly trimmed and may not extend beyond or below the corners of the mouth. Beards are not appropriate.

So how do we survive a hot spring semester?

Something that has worked for me is I wear skirts and sandals and cap sleeve shirts almost every day. When talking to my guy friends they gave the advice of short sleeved shirts and sandals as well.

No matter where you’re walking though you’re going to get hot and even sweat, I’ve just learned that for girls wearing a skirt and sandals has help decrease how hot I get.

Leave a comment